Skip to main content


for Excellence in WTTW News Content and Coverage, collaborations with ProPublica and South Side Weekly, FIRSTHAND and Chicago Stories series

For immediate release
Chicago, IL - April 7, 2023

The Chicago Headline Club has announced that WTTW is nominated for 19 Peter Lisagor Awards for 2022. The finalists were selected by an independent chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists from across more than 100 categories including newspapers, magazines, television, radio, and digital media. WTTW was recognized for: 

Best Use of Data Visualization
Mapping Chicago’s Racial SegregationFIRSTHAND: Segregation
Pat Sier, Charmaine Runes – South Side Weekly and WTTW

Best Social or Short-Form Video
WTTW News Explains
Patty Wetli, Amanda Vinicky, Heather Cherone, Justin Younger, Natalie Younger, Greg Bodfish, Alex Blanchette, Jay Smith – WTTW News

Best Music Coverage
Hedy Weiss on Music – WTTW News

Best Theater or Literary Coverage
Hedy Weiss on Theater – WTTW News

Best Political and Government Reporting
Politics and Government Coverage – WTTW News Team

Best Reporting on Climate Change
Patty Wetli on Climate Change – WTTW News

Best Community Reporting
The CHA’s Troubling Land Deals
Mick Dumke, Nick Blumberg – ProPublica and WTTW

Best Feature Reporting Single Story/Episode

Best Feature Reporting Series
Highland Park Couple Anxiously Awaits Twins Born Via Surrogate from War-Torn Ukraine
Brandis Friedman – WTTW News

Best Investigative Reporting
CTA Overtime Spikes as Agency Hit by Departures; Dozens of Bus and Train Operators Paid for Average Weeks of 80 Hours or More
Nick Blumberg – WTTW News

Best Reporting on Crime and Justice
Permanent Punishment
Brandis Friedman, Julianne Hill – WTTW News

Best Education Reporting
WTTW News Education Coverage – WTTW News Team

Best Business Reporting
WTTW News Business Coverage – WTTW News Team 

Best Science and Technology Reporting
WTTW Science and Technology Coverage
Paul Caine, Erica Gunderson, Patty Wetli – WTTW News

Best Arts and Entertainment Reporting

Best Sports Reporting
50 Years After Title IX, Transgender Athletes Advocate for Protections in High School and College Sports
Amanda Vinicky – WTTW News

Best Community Reporting
Turning Pain Into Purpose
Joanna Hernandez – WTTW News

The Chicago Headline Club established the Lisagor Awards in 1977 to inspire Chicago-area journalists to follow his outstanding example and to recognize truly superior contributions to journalism. Winners will be announced at a dinner ceremony at the Union League Club of Chicago on Friday, May 12, 2023.

WTTW is the PBS member station in Chicago, committed to creating and presenting unique media content across distinct television and digital channels – WTTW, WTTW Prime, WTTW Create, WTTW World, WTTW PBS Kids 24/7, and the PBS/WTTW video app. Recognized for award-winning journalism and local productions – such as Chicago Tonight; Chicago by ‘L’; Chicago Stories; digital-first series FIRSTHAND, Urban Nature and Foodphiles; and national productions Prehistoric Road Trip and Nature Cat – WTTW presents the very best in public affairs, arts and culture, nature and science, history and documentary, and children’s public media content. Connect with WTTW on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.