Skip to main content

Hatchet (series) | The Great American Read

Hatchet cover

Hatchet (series)

by Gary Paulsen

This award-winning contemporary classic is a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure and recipient of the Newbery Honor. Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson, haunted by his secret knowledge of his mother’s infidelity, is traveling by single-engine plane to visit his father for the first time since the divorce. When the plane crashes, Brian is the sole survivor. Alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present, it takes all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed, to survive.

Gary Paulsen

Gary Paulsen is one of the most honored writers of contemporary literature for young readers, author of three Newbery Honor titles, Dogsong, Hatchet, and The Winter Room. He has written more than 100 books for adults and young readers. He divides his time among Alaska, New Mexico, Minnesota, and the Pacific.