Skip to main content

Behind the Scenes

Host Geoffrey Baer at the Wainwright Building in St. Louis

Producer and Writer Dan Protess and Director of Photography Tim Boyd set up the shot (left) while Host Geoffrey Baer and architect Jean Carroon take in the view at Boston's Trinity Church (right)

Host Geoffrey Baer interviews G. Martin Moeller of the National Building Museum (left) and Director of Photography Tim Boyd and Producer and Writer Dan Protess capture the moment (right) at Dulles International Airport

Director of Photography Tim Boyd captures the art glass windows at the Robie House with the help of Lighting Director Tom Godar (left) and Producer and Writer Dan Protess (right)

Host Geoffrey Baer (right) interviews architect Frank Gehry (left) inside the Walt Disney Concert Hall

Director of Photography Tim Boyd (right) captures the Virginia State Capitol with Producer and Writer Dan Protess (left)

(left to right) Host Geoffrey Baer with architects Denise Scott Brown and Robert Venturi outside the Vanna Venturi House

Director of Photography Tim Boyd (left) captures the view from the Seagram Building with Host Geoffrey Baer (center) and Producer and Writer Dan Protess (right)

Host Geoffrey Baer behind the wheel with the University of Minnesota's Tom Fisher (left) at Southdale Center as Director of Photography Tim Boyd sets up the shot (right)

Host Geoffrey Baer (left) with Director of Photography Tim Boyd (right) at the Highland Park Ford Plant

The 10 Buildings interactive website being tested on a wide variety of browsers and mobile devices Photo Credit: Chris Ege




Major funding for 10 Buildings that Changed America is provided by:
The Negaunee Foundation, ITW, Joan and Robert Clifford, and BMO Harris Bank.

Additional funding is provided by:
The Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation, Rande and Cary McMillan, Richard and Mary L. Gray, The Robert Thomas Bobins Foundation, Alexandra and John Nichols, Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Foundation, The Walter E. Heller Foundation, in memory of Alyce de Costa, and Nicor Gas.

Funding is also provided by:
Harriet K. Burnstein, Ken Norgan, Peter Kelliher II, Millennium Properties, Perkins+Will, USG Corporation, and Neil G. Bluhm.

Further underwriting comes from our Friends of 10 Buildings:
Nellie Starr, The Dauntless Charitable Fund, and Ms. Katherine Kurtz & Mr. Raburn Howland.



Website Design and Development
Kevin Crowley
Chris Ege
Jenny Macchione
John Ritterbush

Website Producer
Margaret Newman

Senior Vice President, Marketing & Interactive
Anne Gleason


Writer and Producer
Dan Protess

Geoffrey Baer

Director of Photography
Tim Boyd

Associate Producer
Lisa Goepfrich

Supervising Producer
Geoffrey Baer

Executive Producer
V.J. McAleer

Executive Producer
Dan Soles

Sr. Vice President, WTTW National Productions
Parke Richeson

Paul Thornton

Art Director
Linda Fox

Original Score
Steve Mullen

Jean Guarino

Bruce Dickson
John Draus
Thomas Godar
Matthew Howe
Gabriel Munitz-Alessio
Danny Rozkuszka
Erik Rubner
John-Michael Seng-Wheeler
Steve Smith
Jeff Villars

Production Assistants
Steven Coutts
Nathalie Farfana
Shane Guild
Melissa Molyneux
Alex Murphy
Jamie Stocker

Additional Camera
Roy D. Alan

Graphic Design
Philip Campbell
Reed Marvine

Production Interns
Sana Ahmad
Kaylise Algrim
Sarah Biggers
John Cramer
Tessa Huttenlocher
Kelly Manteck
Dan O’Brien
Annie Rosean
Vincent Sanchez
Christen Ann Sundquist
Erica Valle

Field Engineer in Charge
Dave Moyer

Post Production Engineer in Charge
Don DeMartini

Facilities Manager
Michelle McKenzie-Voigt

Media Manager
Barry Blue

Project Manager
Marie Considine

Outreach Coordinator
Carmen Schmidt

Curriculum Writer
Kelly Docter Lyons

Julia Maish

Jerry Glover
Eshed Halpern

Additional Footage
Bernhard Fleisher Moving Images
Los Angeles Philharmonic
SP Architecture / UltanGuilfoyle
Virginia Film Office

Aaron Betsky
Daniel Bluestone
Gail Fenske
Philip G. Freelon
Neil Harris
Luis Hoyos
Geraldine Forbes Isais
Ted Landsmark
Antoinette J. Lee
Vincent Michael
G. Martin Moeller, Jr.
Julie Nicoletta
Jorge Otero-Pailos
Pauline Saliga
William Allin Storrer
Carol Willis
Dwight Young

Special Thanks
Daniel Andries
Art Institute of Chicago
Bellefontaine Cemetery
Mary Reid Brunstrom
Cal Select Properties, Inc.
Central Booking Service
Chicago History Museum
Draper and Kramer
Agatha Hughes
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Newport Centre
Northwestern University
Omni Richmond Hotel
Elizabeth Reeves
Louis Rucker
Schussler Creative, Inc.
Society of Architectural Historians
Susan Westby