Skip to main content


For immediate release
Chicago, IL - May 9, 2022

The Chicago Headline Club has announced that WTTW has been honored with 8 Peter Lisagor Awards for 2021. The finalists were selected by an independent chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) from across more than 100 categories including newspapers, magazines, television, radio, and digital media. WTTW was recognized for:

Best Feature or Human Interest TV Reporting:
Ida B. Wells: A Chicago Stories Special
Dan Protess, Stacy Robinson, Yasmin Rammohan, Katerina Simic, Tim Boyd, Sam Rong, Anthony Fleming, WTTW

Best Arts and Entertainment TV Reporting:
Inventing Improv: A Chicago Stories Special
Dan Protess, Jude Leak, Ian Bertorelli, Sam Rong, Tim Boyd, Anthony Fleming, Allie n Steve Mullen, WTTW

Best TV Reporting on Crime and Justice:
Chicago Tonight Adam Toledo Special
WTTW News Team 

Best TV Reporting on Education:
CTU/CPS Standoff
WTTW News Team

Best TV Reporting on Politics and Government:
Chicago Tonight: January 6th Special
WTTW News Team

Best TV Interview:
“‘It Could Happen to Anyone’: Chicago Mother Shares Story of Stepson’s Murder”
Brandis Friedman, Nick Blumberg, WTTW News

Best Theater or Literary Online Coverage
Hedy Weiss on Theater
Hedy Weiss, WTTW News

Best Use of Video for Online Feature
FIRSTHAND: Living in Poverty
Dan Protess, Pat Odom, Anne Gleason, Jude Leak, Jessica Martinaitis, Alejandro Marin, WTTW

“We are honored and grateful that the Society of Professional Journalists has determined that our work was deserving of this prestigious honor,” said WTTW President & CEO Sandra Cordova Micek. “As a public media organization, it is our role to cover, analyze, and document the issues and stories that matter to the people in our city, region, and beyond. We are deeply proud of this work, which is a clear demonstration of how we deliver on our purpose of enriching lives, engaging communities, and inspiring exploration.”

As the Chicago Daily News Washington bureau chief from 1959 to 1976, Peter Lisagor was one of the nation’s most respected and well-known journalists. The Chicago Headline Club established the Lisagor Awards in 1977 to inspire Chicago-area journalists to follow his outstanding example and to recognize truly superior contributions to journalism.

WTTW is the PBS member station in Chicago, committed to creating and presenting unique media content across distinct television and digital channels – WTTW, WTTW Prime, WTTW Create, WTTW World, WTTW PBS Kids 24/7,, and the PBS/WTTW video app. Recognized for award-winning journalism and local productions – such as CHICAGO TONIGHT, BLACK AND LATINO VOICES, CHICAGO STORIES, FIRSTHAND, BEYOND CHICAGO FROM THE AIR, and CHICAGO BY ‘L – WTTW presents the very best in public affairs, arts and culture, nature and science, history and documentary, and children’s public media content. Connect with WTTW on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.