Skip to main content

WTTW WINS NINE PETER LISAGOR AWARDS for Excellence in WTTW News Content and Coverage, its collaboration with South Side Weekly, FIRSTHAND and Chicago Stories series

For immediate release
Chicago, IL - May 13, 2023

Last night, The Chicago Headline Club announced that WTTW has been honored with nine Peter Lisagor Awards for 2022. The winners were selected by an independent chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) from across more than 100 categories including newspapers, magazines, television, radio, and digital media. 

WTTW’s total number of awards was second only to the Chicago Tribune, and among broadcast operations, WTTW garnered the most honors. The station was recognized in the following categories:

Best Use of Data Visualization
Mapping Chicago's Racial Segregation - FIRSTHAND: Segregation
Pat Sier, Charmaine Runes – South Side Weekly and WTTW

Best Social or Short-Form Video
WTTW News Explains
Patty Wetli, Amanda Vinicky, Heather Cherone, Justin Younger, Natalie Younger, Greg Bodfish, Alex Blanchette, Jay Smith – WTTW News

Best Feature Reporting Single Story/Episode
Chicago Stories: The Union Stockyards
Daniel Andries, Dan Protess, Robert Loerzel, Ian Bertorelli - WTTW

Best Reporting on Crime and Justice
Permanent Punishment
Brandis Friedman, Julianne Hill – WTTW News

Best Education Reporting
WTTW News Education Coverage - WTTW News Team

Best Business Reporting
WTTW News Business Coverage - WTTW News Team

Best Science and Technology Reporting
WTTW Science and Technology Coverage
Paul Caine, Erica Gunderson, Patty Wetli – WTTW News

Best Arts and Entertainment Reporting
Chicago Stories: The Birth of Gospel
Stacy Robinson, Dan Protess, Mizani Ball – WTTW

Best Sports Reporting
50 Years After Title IX, Transgender Athletes Advocate for Protections in High School and College Sports
Amanda Vinicky – WTTW News

In addition, during this year’s ceremony, Chicago Tonight’s Alexandra and John Nichols Contributing Anchor Phil Ponce was honored with a Chicago Headline Club Lifetime Achievement Award.  

“We are honored that the Society of Professional Journalists has recognized our reporting across so many different categories,” said WTTW President & CEO Sandra Cordova Micek. “As a public media organization, it is our role to cover, analyze, and document the issues and stories that matter to the people in our city, region, and beyond. We are proud of this work, which is a clear demonstration of how we fulfill our purpose to enrich lives, engage communities, and inspire exploration.”

The Chicago Headline Club established the Lisagor Awards in 1977 to inspire Chicago-area journalists to follow his outstanding example and to recognize truly superior contributions to journalism.

WTTW is the PBS member station in Chicago, committed to creating and presenting unique media content across distinct television and digital channels – WTTW, WTTW Prime, WTTW Create, WTTW World, WTTW PBS Kids 24/7, and the PBS/WTTW video app. Recognized for award-winning journalism and local productions – such as Chicago Tonight; Chicago by ‘L’; Chicago Stories; digital-first series FIRSTHAND, Urban Nature and Foodphiles; and national productions Prehistoric Road Trip and Nature Cat – WTTW presents the very best in public affairs, arts and culture, nature and science, history and documentary, and children’s public media content. Connect with WTTW on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.