Skip to main content

Ten Towns that Changed America | About


Major funding for 10 TOWNS THAT CHANGED AMERICA is provided by:
The Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation.

Additional funding is provided by:
Joan and Robert Clifford and The Walter E. Heller Foundation, in memory of Alyce DeCosta.

Funding is also provided by:
Millennium Properties R/E, Peter and Jane McNitt, Marvin and Adele Goldsmith, Mark and Lisa Pinsky, Sonia T. Marschak, and Chicago Architecture Foundation.


Website Producer
Margaret Newman
Alan Brunettin

Website Design
Jenny Macchione

Website Development
Kevin Crowley
Chris Ege
Justin Henderson

Senior VP, Marketing and Interactive Media
Anne Gleason

Website Consultant
Lynn Josse

Curriculum Writer
Jane Cowan


Produced by
Daniel Andries

Series Producer
Dan Protess

Geoffrey Baer

Director of Photography
Tim Boyd

Frederick Steim

Peter Marks

Associate Producers
Mary Fishman
Elise Pasquinelli

Original Score by
Steve Mullen

Online Editor
Paul Thornton

Additional Camera
Matt Howe

Aerial Photography
Garrett Despain
Elevated Element, LLC
Perry Finkelstein
Fly View Aerial
Get-Kinetic, Inc.
Hover Check Aerial Productions
Jordan Overman
Tracy Shumway
Soaring Badger Productions

Paul Alfe
David D'Ardenne
Stephen Baker
Roger D. Davis
Jeff Edrich
Jim Gilchrist
Alison Grayson
Bill Hickey

Kevin Almodovar
Stuart Bicknell
Wayne R. Dahl
John Draus
Matt Howe
Rich Lanza
Chris Walters
Scott Walters

Keaton Bicknell
David Olivero

Production Assistant
Patrick Andries

Graphic Design
Reed Marvine

Photo Animation
Stefanie Kljucaric

Art Director
Linda Fox

Jean Guarino

Additional Research
Julianne Hill
Robert Sharoff

Production Interns
Jes Farnum
Emma Hornor
Taniayah Johnson
Sara Micknowski
Matthew Schaffer
Julianna St. Onge
Lydia Woods
Jamie Zoll

Field Engineer in Charge
Dave Moyer

Post Production Engineers in Charge
Mark Anderson
Don DeMartini

Facilities Manager
Michelle McKenzie-Voigt

Media Manager
Barry Blue

Project Manager
Marie Considine

Julia Maish

Eshed Halpern

Francesca Russello Ammon
Robert Fishman
Greg Hise
Mary Corbin Sies

Additional Footage

Archival Materials
American Documentary Films, Inc.
Brigham Young University
Cambridge Historical Commission
Chicago History Museum
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints History Museum
City of Portland Archives
Clarence Stein Collection, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library
D.C. Public Library
District Department of Transportation
Donald R. Nelson
DPZ Partners, LLC
F.I.L.M. Archives, Inc.
Florida Museum of Natural History
Getty Images
Historic New England
Historic Pullman Foundation
Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Hoyt Realty Group
J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles
John Reps Urban Explorer Collection, Cornell University Library
Keffer Collection of Sheet Music, University of Pennsylvania
Levittown Historical Society and Museum
Levittown Public Library
Library of Congress, Brady-Handy Collection
Library of Congress, FSA/OWI Collection
Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
National Park Service, Frederick Law Olmsted National Historic Site
Naxos of America, Inc.
Newberry Library
New-York Historical Society
Oregon Historical Society
John Paget
Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, Philadelphia
Portland Development Commission
Riverside Historical Museum
Ryerson & Burnham Archives, Art Institute of Chicago
Seaside Community Development Corporation
Ted Sirlin
State Archives of Florida
Dhiru A. Thadani, author, Visions of Seaside: Foundation, Evolution, Imagination. Built and Unbuilt Architecture
U.S. Geological Survey
Utah State Historical Society

Additional Music
James Kalal
Sylvia Vidova

Special Thanks
J. Michael Francis
Greater Philadelphia Film Office
Connie Guardi
Historic Philadelphia, Inc.
Loyola University Chicago
The New School
Portland Film Office
Portland Streetcar
Ben Sells
Mike Shymanski
Lori Smith
Utah Film Commission
Washington, D.C. Film Office
Megan Young

Senior Editor
Geoffrey Baer

Executive Producer
V.J. McAleer

Executive Producer
Dan Soles

Sr. Vice President, WTTW National Productions
Parke Richeson