Meet the New Co-Anchors of 'PBS NewsHour' Replacing Judy Woodruff

Daniel Hautzinger
Geoff Bennett and Amna Nawaz
Geoff Bennett and Amna Nawaz will be the new co-anchors of 'PBS NewsHour.' Photo: Mike Morgan

Judy Woodruff is stepping down as anchor of PBS NewsHour on December 30, 2022, and she will be replaced by PBS NewsHour chief correspondent Amna Nawaz and chief Washington correspondent and PBS News Weekend anchor Geoff Bennett on January 2, 2023.

Both Nawaz and Bennett have experience anchoring NewsHour, with Nawaz serving as the primary substitute for Woodruff since she joined NewsHour in 2018 and Bennett holding down the weekend since he came to NewsHour from NBC News in 2022. Bennett has also worked for NPR and ABC News’ World News Tonight, and has received an Edward R. Murrow Award.

Nawaz has her own accolades, having received Peabody Awards for her reporting at NewsHour on the January 6 insurrection and global plastic pollution. She came to PBS from ABC News, and also worked at NBC News. 

This will mark a return to co-anchoring for the NewsHour, which began as a project of Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer and was most recently co-anchored by Woodruff and Gwen Ifill from 2013 until Ifill's death in 2016. Woodruff has served as solo anchor since.

Woodruff is not retiring from journalism. She will begin work on a two-year project called Judy Woodruff Presents: America at a Crossroads, in which she will travel the country to have conversations and report on the state of America and its deep divisions, in regular segments for the NewsHour as well as possible specials.